The Kohat University of Science and Technology is a public university located at Kohat District, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan. It was established in 2001. The university was inaugurated by the then Governor of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Lt. Gen. Syed Iftikhar Hussain Shah.


KUST attained the status of degree-awarding institution vide KPK ordinance No. XXIII of 2001 and the subsequent notification No. Legis: 1 (12) 2001/4451-56, of August 30, 2001.

The university was founded with four institutes – Institute of Information Technology, Institute of Management Sciences, Institute of Education and Research and Department of Microbiology. These offered two-year and four-year bachelor degrees and two-year master degrees in 2004. Later on, the university was expanded by establishing departments in physics, chemistry, botany, zoology (Dr. Farzana Perveen has established department of Zoology KUST from the beginning and brings it up) and microbiology. These departments offer B.S. (Hons.), M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. degree programs. The first vice chancellor of the university was Prof. Dr. Sher Ali Khan Shinwari.

KUST is ranked No. 22 in the general category of Higher Education Commission (Pakistan) rankings.

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here